Windows to her soul

And the moment I say goodbye, her eyes tear up. Mine followed. I smile and hug her. She rewards me with a watery smile and hugs me back. I revel in her warmth, because I know I am going to miss her the second I reach. Eventhough she doesn’t understand me quite well and doesn’t know what to do when I sit there curled up in a corner, with a mind that’s been blocked, comfort me and talk me out of my depression, I know she will always be there. Because she cant bear me, retreating back into a shell. And I come out of it by myself and smile for her, because I know I cant bear it when a feeling of helplessness creep into her eyes during those times.

I have never told her how much I love her. The words never come out. They get stuck at the tip of my tongue. My heart broke the day when she came upto me and asked why I never tell her how much I love her, with teary eyes. She asked me, is it because you dont love me?. I hugged her then. I could only hope that she understood what I wanted to convey, because words fail me when it comes to her.

I remember a time when I was rebellious and shouted at her for everything. She fought back too. I remember the day I told her hurtful words that I was never supposed to utter. I cant even imagine the pain she would have felt when she would have heard them. Her eyes, filled with pain, is a memory that is etched into my heart. Well, the dynamics changed at some point of time. Now the guilt that consumes me, when I as much as go against her, eats my heart. Its only when she talks back to me as if nothing happened, that I heave a sigh of relief. Her indifference can reduce me to a strange nobody. Her words can make me believe that everything is fine. Her love can make stand up and face the world.

And the day at the airport, I never looked into her eyes. I knew she was crying. I hugged her, told her bye and walked in. I kept my head down, flickered my eyes, kept my tears from falling. It was only after I reached a safe distance, where I wouldn’t be able to see her eyes, that I turned back, smiled and memorized her face, for the months to come.

Her eyes are my windows.
Her tears are my undoing.
And my mother is my love.

One thought on “Windows to her soul”

Leave a Reply

