Abyss

Coutesy : Google

“Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing 
and rightdoing there is a field.
I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass
the world is too full to talk about.” – Rumi

I have always been one kid who just wouldn’t keep her mouth shut. As a young child or a vibrant teen. It was always the same. A complete chatterbox. But as the years go by, we see changes in ourselves that surprise everyone. Moreover ourself the most.

From the chatterbox , I gradually evolved to an observer. A lot of things caught my eyes. And I always thought deep. Far deep down, that I used to get tangled in my own thoughts. To break free of them I would have to let go of everything that I thought about. Those thoughts when let gone are then forgotten. There have been instances when I am in an abyss of my thoughts and I struggle to infer and learn from them, but I just would not be ready to let go of them. I would want to infer from it. All thoughts have interesting conclusions and they are the best to learn, in my opinion. I just refuse to let go of my thoughts, because they always taught me. interesting things.

Being the observer that I am, you see a lot of people. Different kinds of people. The vibrant ones, the quiet ones, the idealistic ones and the happy-go-lucky ones. These people can be made of different colours and shades. There are some who are purely made of a single colour. There is nothing fake to them. They are the original ones. There are others who are made of different shades. They are quite complicated ones. For to one they may be their pure self but another half is completely a different person that you fail to recognise them. Different shades. Different colours. Different personalities

Out all these types, do you know which are the most intriguing ones? – The quiet and reserved ones. They are always far away from us. Their thoughts are unique because they are yet not shared. Each and every emotion that they show has a meaning to it. Each reserved person has an interesting story to tell. They have interesting thoughts to share. But they choose not to. And that’s what makes me the most curious.

School is a place where you get to see different types of people. There has always been this girl in my class who would intrigue me a lot. At times, I find myself staring at her trying to figure out what is exactly going through her mind. And those random lapses of reality is when my thirsty mind which are tangled in its own abyss of thoughts wanders away. It would wander away to a future that I am yet to see. a future of this interesting girl.

If I had a superpower ability I would always want it to be mind reading. The only that I have loved in Twilight is Edward’s mind reading ability. Its kinda cool. And at times I imagine myself with this ability and how my mind will be a mess with everyone’s thoughts. But I had a solution – I would want an internal switch which would tune out all the other people’s thoughts and my mind would be truly mine and ready to fall into my abyss of feelings. After all, I am an observer.

“I’ve begun to realize that you can listen to silence and learn from it. It has a quality and a dimension all its own.” 
― Chaim PotokThe Chosen

Leave a Reply

